The Racing Pigeons Visit Lawrence
Originally named The Junction, Lawrence was renamed in honour of a leader in the Indian mutiny.
In May 1861, Gabriel Reed discovered gold in the gully which now bears his name. This caused Lawrence to undergo an explosive growth, becoming the goldmining centre of the District. By July 1861, the population of the area was 11.472. The gold boom ended in the late 1930’s. Today, Lawrence is a peaceful farming centre for the surrounding District. It is also a fascinating tourist destination, allowing visitors to explore (amongst other things) the unusual botanics and gold digging history, plus it is the first village in New Zealand offering town-wide free wireless Internet access.
On 21 February 1998, Lawrence celebrated Gold Dust Day – a celebration of 150 years of development and settlement.