Treats for everyone!

As a feline, I really like and know my food. This does not mean that I’m overly picky, just that I have a gastronomic connaissance that far exceeds that of a lot of competitors and judges on The Great British Bake Off.

Amongst the things I like are home made bread (but only if it’s fresh), home made Flemish apple pie and – not really shocking – chicken. Three times a week I enjoy a culinary feast in the form of Whiskas wet food; this is the feline equivalence of going out for a nice dinner in a nice restaurant.

Having said that, I’m not too keen on the most recent Whiskas flavours, the ones that are labelled “Oh, so meaty” and “Oh, so fishy”. The “Oh so Fishy” ones are way too liquid to my taste – way too much gooey-like gravy. It’s not a meal, it’s a soup. The “Oh, so Meaty” ones, on the other hand, are exactly the opposite. They too have way too much gravy for my liking, but this gravy is not too liquid but too solid. The entire contents slide out of the package in one big blob, and even when my human breaks it up with a fork I’m having issues eating it.

So I’ll just stick with the Whiskas Singles Favourites Variety Pack 12 pouches a box. Twelve pouches, three flavours, one box, on permanent discount at my pet’s local supermarket, and deeee-licious.

Speaking of fancy feeding feasts: it is that time of the year when we’re gearing up for Christmas. You know, that Christian holiday that is used by people from all religions – and those without – to have a nice break and some quality family-time. It is also a time that is marked by an elaborate eating festivity.

This festivity (“Christmas dinner” if you prefer) originated as an end-of-year family feast, for this generally was the only time in the year that the whole family would be together (families used to be a lot bigger), and this would be celebrated by a dinner worthy of  Bigmouth, featuring all kinds of treats and goodies that were only available during that time of year. Times have progressed, and today most foods are available all year round. The habit of having an elaborate dinner, however, has stayed.

Another tradition about this dinner that has survived the tides of timel: the turkey, thick gravy, roasted potatoes and pumpkin, … This all might sound very delicious if you’re in the Northern Hemisphere, but imagine eating all that when it’s 30 degrees outside! (That’s 30 degrees Celcius, of course. Mr. Fahrenheit would say it’s 86).

New Zealand Christmas Tree - image courtesy of mormonmommyblogs.com

Metrosideros excelsa, better known as the pōhutukawa or New Zealand Christmas tree. It gets it’s name from the fact it blooms in the December-January period. Image courtesy of mormonmommyblogs.com

 

So, you humans have your feast. But thanks to aunty Helen, now I can have mine too! Look what she sent me: Temptations has distributed free sample packs of their cat snacks as a holiday treat for cats. And aunty Helen has posted me the one she found in her mailbox, joy oh joy.

Temptations - free cat snacks

And a treat it is, I really love these things. And no wonder, look what’s in them: chicken by-product, ground corn, animal fat, meat by-products, cheese…. not bad for something that is “made in Canada“, ey? The only thing that I do not like about them is that my humans only give me 8 a day >.<

Should you have found a Temptations Cat Treats sample pack in your mailbox and don’t know what to do with it, then please do get in touch with me as I might have a suggestion ^^

Roast dinner for the humans, Temptations for the felines, it’s treats for everyone!

Roll on Christmas.

And be nice…

Leave a Reply

